Governing Board

The Interpeace Governing Board is the highest decision-making body of the organization and plays a key role in defining Interpeace’s overall strategy. It is the legal authority that is responsible for the organization.

The Governing Board is made up of prominent individuals from the government, international, and business sectors. There is also a seat for the host government, Switzerland, and a designated representative of the United Nations Secretary-General.

Amre Moussa



Amre Moussa was the Egyptian Ambassador to India (1983-1986). Then he became the Permanent Representative of Egypt to the U.N (1990-1991), the Foreign Minister of Egypt (1991-2001) and the Secretary General of the League of Arab States (2001-2011). He ran for President of Egypt in the first democratic elections following the 25th of January Revolution [...]

Kate Gilmore



Former United Nations Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights. Prior to joining OHCHR, Gilmore was Assistant Secretary General and Deputy Executive Director for Programmes with the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA). Executive Deputy Secretary General of Amnesty International (2000-2010). National Dir of Amnesty International Australia.

Matthias Stiefel



Founder and former President of Interpeace

Marc Secretan



Swiss Certified Public Accountant and registered Audit Expert. Currently serves as an Audit Partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) leading the Geneva office and overseeing a staff of more than 450 professionals. Mr. Secretan commenced his career with PwC in 2000, having received his Master’s degree in management from the University of Geneva.

Agnes Abuom


Moderator of the Central Committee of the World Council of Churches (WCC) since 2013. Director of the organization TAABCO Research and Development Consultants; former Africa president for the WCC (1999-2006). More than 40 years  of experience in the ecumenical movement, peacebuilding, gender and human rights.

Elhadj As Sy


Former Secretary General of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC); decades of experience working in the humanitarian sector, including in senior positions at the United Nations Children’s agency (UNICEF), the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV and AIDS (UNAIDS), the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the Global Fund to Fight [...]

Staffan De Mistura


Former Under-Secretary-General and United Nations Special Envoy for Syria Former Italian Undersecretary of State for Foreign Affairs; Former Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General in Afghanistan and Iraq and Lebanon; Former Personal Representative of the Secretary-General for Southern Lebanon; Former Director of the UN Information Center in Rome.

Simon Geissb√ľhler


Representative of the Host Government on the Governing Board. Head of the Human Security Division of the Swiss Department of Foreign Affairs; former Deputy Head of Mission of Switzerland to the US; former Deputy Chief of the Department of America (in the rank of minister) of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs; postings at the Swiss embassy in Bucharest & in Warsaw.

Hind Kabawat


Deputy head of the Syrian Negotiation Commission’s Geneva Office, formerly known as the High Negotiations Committee (HNC). Participated in all eight rounds of the Geneva peace talks on Syria (2017). Director of Interfaith Peacebuilding at George Mason University’s Center for World Religions, Diplomacy, and Conflict Resolution (CRDC). Senior Program Officer at the United States Institute of Peace (2015).

Khaled Khiari


Representative of the United Nations Secretary-General on the Governing Board Assistant Secretary-General for Middle East, Asia and the Pacific in the Departments of Political and Peacebuilding Affairs and Peace Operations; former Director General of Americas, Asia and Oceania in the Tunisia Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Over 35 years of experience in diplomacy and foreign affairs, [...]

Martti Ahtisaari

Chair Emeritus and Special Adviser


Recipient of 2008 Nobel Peace Prize; former President of Finland; Chair of the Interpeace Governing Council from 2001 to 2009

John A. Kufuor

Chair Emeritus


Former President of Ghana; former Chairperson of the African Union (AU); former Chairperson of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)