Home - Interpeace : Interpeace
Home - Interpeace : Interpeace
Home - Interpeace : Interpeace

2011 Noble Peace Prize Laureates – an inspiration to women peacebuilders around the world

10 octobre, 2011
Est. Reading: 1 minute
Photo Credit: Abbas Dulleh for Interpeace

Interpeace congratulates the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize Laureates: President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee, both from Liberia, and Tawakul Karman of Yemen.

These three outstanding women were honored by the Norwegian Nobel Committee “for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and women’s rights to full participation in peacebuilding work.”

President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf is the first woman elected as a head of state in Africa. Johnson Sirleaf has worked to rebuild Liberia after its civil wars.

Leymah Gbowee, a Liberian peace activist, played a key role in ending the second Liberian Civil War. Gbowee organized a movement known as the Women of Liberia Mass Action for Peace, which saw Liberian women of all religions band together in peaceful protest to stop the war. Gbowee’s efforts not only helped end the Liberian Civil War, but they also helped give a voice to women in Liberia.

Tawakul Karman is a Yemeni journalist, politician, and activist, who has labored to improve freedoms and rights in Yemen. The Nobel Committee commended Karman “for her work in the most trying circumstances, both before and during the 'Arab Spring', Tawakkul Karman has played a leading part in the struggle for women’s rights and for democracy and peace in Yemen.”

With women around the world bearing the brunt of the civil war related violence, honoring three outstanding females who are working for peace is fitting. They are an inspiration to all women promoting peace around the world.