Former Board Members

Interpeace has been privileged to work with exceptional representatives from the government, international and business sectors. Our Former Board Members helped shape the organization and played a key role in defining our strategy.

Maurice Strong


Former UN Under-Secretary-General, President of the Council of the University for Peace, former Secretary General of the Rio Conference

Agnes Abuom


Moderator of the Central Committee of the World Council of Churches (WCC) since 2013. Director of the organization TAABCO Research and Development Consultants; former Africa president for the WCC (1999-2006).

Martin Aked

United Kingdom

Former Partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers and former International Treasurer of Médecins Sans Frontières

Paddy Ashdown

United Kingdom

Member of the House of Lords; former member of Parliament and leader of the Liberal Democrats; former High Representative for Bosnia and Herzegovina

Zainab Bangura

Sierra Leone

Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Government of Sierra Leone; former official of the United Nations Mission in Liberia

Hind Bint Hamad Al-Thani


Vice Chairperson of the Qatar Foundation; Director of the Office of the Emir of Qatar, His Highness Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Al-Thani

Nathalie Delapalme


Executive Director of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation; former Inspecteur General des Finances at the Ministry of Economy and Finance of France.

Judy Cheng-Hopkins


Assistant Secretary-General for UN Peacebuilding Support; former UN Assistant High Commissioner for Refugees

Alan Doss

United Kingdom

Former President of the Kofi Annan Foundation; Visiting Fellow at the Geneva Centre for Security Policy; former Special Representative of the Secretary-General of the UN in the DRC

Georgina Dufoix


Former Minister of Health and Social Services of France; Former President of the French Red Cross

Oscar Fernandez-Taranco


Assistant Secretary-General for the UN Peacebuilding Support Office

Heidi Grau


Representative of the Host Government on the Governing Council; Head of the Human Security Division, Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Thomas Greminger


Representative of the Host Government on the Governing Council; Head of Political Division IV (Peace Policy) Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Jo√£o Honwana


Director, Africa I Division, UN Dep. of Political Affairs; Former Chief of Staff, UN Mission in Sudan; Former Head of UN Peacebuilding Support Office in Guinea-Bissau

Razali Ismail


Special Envoy of the Secretary-General for Myanmar, former Ambassador of Malaysia to the UN, former President of the UN General Assembly

Raimund Kunz


Representative of the Host Government of the Governing Council; Former Ambassador of Switzerland to Turkey

Carolyn McAskie


Representative of the UN Secretary-General on the Governing Council; United Nations Assistant Secretary-General for Peacebuilding Support

Youssef Mahmoud


Senior Adviser at IPI; Former Secretary-General’s Special Representative & Head of the UN Peacekeeping Mission in the Central African Republic & Chad

Peter Maurer


Representative of the Host Government on the Governing Board, Head of Political Division IV of the Federal Government of Foreign Affairs, Berne

Monica McWilliams

United Kingdom

Professor of Women’s Studies at the University of Ulster; Signatory to the Good Friday Agreement in Northern Ireland and former Chief Commissioner of the Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission.

Jonathan Moore

United States

Former US Ambassador to the United Nations; Associate at Harvard Kennedy School where he was Director of its Institute of Politics

Michael M√łller


Director-General of the United Nations Office at Geneva; Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General to Cyprus

Hisashi Owada


President & Judge, International Court of Justice in The Hague; former Permanent Represenative to the UN in NY; former President, JIIA

Jan Pronk


Former Professor at the Institute of Social Studies in The Hague; Former Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for Sudan

Mohamed Sahnoun


Former Special Advisor to the UN Secretary-General for Africa; former Deputy Secretary-General of the AU

Mabel Van Oranje


CEO of The Elders; Founder and Co-Chair of the European Council on Foreign Relations; former Advocacy Director of the Open Society Institute

Anthony Travis

United Kingdom

Former Senior Partner, Gainsbury and Consort; former Senior Partner of Pricewaterhouse Coopers

Necla Tschirgi


Professor of Practice, Human Security & Peacebuilding at the Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies at the Uni. of San Diego; former Senior Policy Advisor to the Peacebuilding Support Office at the UN Secretariat

Cassam Uteem


President of Mauritius (1992-2002); Former Special Envoy of UN Secretary General and Head of the UN Electoral Observer Mission in Burundi (MENUB)

Danilo T√ľrk


Rep. of the UN Secretary-General on Governing Board, UN Assistant Secretary-General for Political Affairs, former Ambassador of Slovenia to the UN in NY

Karina Vartanova

Switzerland / Russia

Former audit director at KPMG. Has worked with international large & medium-sized NGOs; IFRC, the Gavi & the Global Fund amongst others.

Claude Wild


Representative of the Host Government of the Governing Council; Head of Human Security Division , Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

Rubén Zamora

El Salvador

Former Vice President of National Parliament and Former member of Parliament