Home - Interpeace : Interpeace
Home - Interpeace : Interpeace

Nobel Peace Prize awarded to President Martti Ahtisaari

10 octobre, 2008
Est. Reading: 1 minute
Photo credit: Jean-Marc Ferré for Interpeace

The 2008 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to President Martti Ahtisaari for his important efforts, on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts. Interpeace wishes to congratulate its Chairman of eight years for receiving one of the highest honours in recognition of his lifetime dedication to helping build peace around the world.

In his distinguished career, Martti Ahtisaari has served his country as President of Finland from 1994 to 2000 and as diplomat for three decades. He has also been entrusted with numerous high offices in the United Nations. Ahtisaari’s many achievements for world peace include the supervision of Namibia’s move toward independence from South Africa as Special Representative of the UN Secretary General for Namibia. After leaving office in February 2000, President Ahtisaari was appointed by the British Government to oversee the inspections of IRA weapons decommissioning in Northern Ireland. In 2005 he successfully facilitated the peace process between the Government of Indonesia and the Free Aceh Movement, through the Crisis Management Initiative, the non-governmental organization he founded. In November 2005, UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan appointed Ahtisaari as Special Envoy of the Secretary-General of the United Nations for the future status process for Kosovo.

President Ahtisaari has served as the Chairman of Interpeace since 2000, during which time the organization has greatly benefited from his wisdom and vast experience.

Scott M. Weber, Director-General of Interpeace said today:

“Our Chairman’s contribution to world peace has received the ultimate recognition with the award of the Nobel Peace Prize. We applaud this decision and congratulate him wholeheartedly."