Home - Interpeace : Interpeace
Home - Interpeace : Interpeace
Home - Interpeace : Interpeace

Chairman wins the 2008 Nobel Peace Prize

October 10, 2008
Est. Reading: 1 minute
Photo credit: Jean-Marc Ferré for Interpeace

On Friday 10 October, 2008 President Martti Ahtisaari was awarded the 2008 Nobel Peace Prize. With the prize going to Martti Ahtisaari, Former President of Finland and Chairman of Interpeace since 2000, it provides peacebuilders around the world with great encouragement.

During his distinguished career, Martti Ahtisaari has served his country as President of Finland from 1994 to 2000 and as diplomat for three decades. He has also held numerous high offices in the United Nations.

Ahtisaari’s many achievements for world peace include the supervision of Namibia’s move toward independence as Special Representative of the UN Secretary General for Namibia. After leaving office in February 2000, Ahtisaari was appointed by the British Government to oversee the inspections of IRA weapons decommissioning in Northern Ireland. In 2005 he successfully facilitated the peace process between the Government of Indonesia and the Free Aceh Movement, through the Crisis Management Initiative, the non-governmental organization he founded. In November 2005, UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan appointed Ahtisaari as Special Envoy of the Secretary-General of the United Nations for the future status process for Kosovo.

At Interpeace we greatly benefit from his wisdom and experience. We are continually inspired by his humbleness and his steadfast commitment to helping societies build peace that will last.